Phenomenal Pots of Happiness! #atozchallenge

 
porridge

P     Today on ‘P’ day, I’d like to share a recipe. The recipe is for porridge- which we serve as a breakfast option for our glamping guests.

Porridge (I hear you say) What’s so special about porridge?

Porridge certainly has a reputation for being dull and worthy, but I promise you that with a few tweaks, this simple dish is brought to a completely different level.

Ingredients

1 cup of jumbo oats

2.5 cups of milk/water

Cream

Honey

Cinnamon.

Sultanas soaked  in whiskey and sugar

Method

Soak the oats in milk/water and cook on a low heat until thick. Serve with a dessert spoon of honey drizzled over it.  Pour on as much cream as your conscience will allow you. Then, scatter some cinnamon and whiskey sultanas on top. ENJOY!

So that’s the recipe. It couldn’t be simpler. Yet, it is a definite crowd pleaser. Probably the best compliment I received was from a young Italian man called Giancarlo.  What I particularly love about Italian people is their love of food and family. Nobody cooks like Mama, and Mama (quite rightly) is a goddess.

Anyway, Giancarlo came and stayed with us. Several weeks later, I got an email from him. He told me that he had enjoyed his time in Ireland very much. Turns out one of the highlights of the trip was my porridge!!  He had made several attempts to recreate the dish at home, but with no success.  Mama had stepped in,  but even she had not managed to capture the essential (I’m quoting Giancarlo now) ‘wonderfulness’ of it.

Giancarlo wanted to know if I would share with him the secret of this:

‘PHENOMENAL POT OF HAPPINESS!’

Well, when someone puts a request so eloquently, who could refuse?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Phenomenal Pots of Happiness! #atozchallenge

  1. Who could refuse, indeed!

    What an awesome compliment to receive, way to go!

    I had to look up sultanas. I’d never heard that term before, and then discovered that it’s the only kind of raisin I like, the golden ones. Those are the kind I use when I made oatmeal raisin cookies. 🙂

    Your porridge sounds wonderful, thank you for sharing it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

